Recipe | Energy Bites inspired by Deliciously Ella

I first heard about the ‘energy ball’ food-fashion in the early months of 2016 when food bloggers such as Deliciously Ella and Clean Eating Alice started to create the tasty little superfood snacks. Since, the craze has exploded all over the likes of Pinterest and eventually I just had to make them to see what all the fuss was about…

There are hundreds of variations of recipes for energy balls so after reading so many I came up with my own. Below I have listed the ingredients I use and their benefits. The photographs included are in fact screen-grabs from a video of how to make them, you can see that on my Youtube channel below:

I’ve found that energy balls are a fantastic snack for when you’re just craving something sweet or chocolatey. I usually make a stash and keep them in the fridge. Throughout the summer i’d take a few to work and have one as a quick pick-me-up halfway through a busy shift. Now i’m at university, I often take one to my lectures to have as a snack in my break. The great thing is, these energy balls are so good for you and are going to have great benefits to your body unlike the uglier chocolatey snack from the corner shop.

The Recipe

I for the nuts, cacao, chia seeds and oats I don’t really follow strict measurements. I make my energy balls in my NutriBullet and therefore try to pack as much in as I can however just enough to make sure the NutriBullet can still function properly.

Almonds – I use either either mixed nuts or almonds. Almonds are rich in vitamin E and are good for keeping your cell membranes strong. In addition, nuts in general are a fab source of healthy fats and protein. I usually use 1/2 a bag of raw, organic almonds.

Coconut Oil – as explained in my previous superfood post, coconut oil provides you with healthy fats which actually supports out metabolism and helps us to burn fat. I usually use a good teaspoon of coconut oil.

Cacao Powder – Cacao is the pure, un-refined, concentrated form of cocoa. According to one of my favourite books, ‘Eat Pretty’, cacao has a higher concentration of antioxidants than any other food we know of. It boosts skin hydration and decreases redness by increasing the nutrients, blood and oxygen supplied to our skin. I usually add two heaped teaspoons of cacao to my mix.

Chia Seeds – Chia seeds are a fantastic source of Omega 3 and reduce inflammation. In addition they protect against sun damage and contain amino acids that are crucial for healthy skin, hair and nails. I usually add 2-3 tea spoons.

Dates – A great source of sugar, fibre, vitamin A and magnesium. Dates provide you with energy and are used in this recipe to make the mixture gooey and sweet. I usually have a good handful of pitted dates and cut them up into small chunks so they don’t damage my NutriBullet.

Oats – I add a good amount of oats to the mix to thicken it up a little. In addition, they are great for providing energy and are rich in Vitamin B. I hope to try using gluten-free in the future.

Peanut Butter – I add 2-3 heaped teaspoons of PB to my mix to add an extra flavour. This is optional I guess, I’ve read that most people add an ‘extra’ whether it be PB or goji berries or honey or maple syrup for example.

The Method

screen-shot-2016-11-03-at-21-27-18

1.  Add the almonds of mixed nuts to your NutriBullet. Pulse them for a few seconds until they are crushed. This is going to form the ‘flour’ basis of the recipe.

screen-shot-2016-11-03-at-21-27-38

2. Next add the cacao and chia seeds and blitz again.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-10-00

3. Before you add the dates, make sure they have been pitted and cut into small chunks.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-12-12

4. Add your extras. Here I added peanut butter AND a little squidge of honey.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-13-42

5. Add your coconut oil to help bind all the ingredients together.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-16-01

6. After your mixture has been blitzed until it’s a dough, use a wooden spoon to scrape the mixture onto a chopping board. Then take sections as big as you’d like and roll into balls. I like to do mine bigger rather than smaller.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-18-29

7. I then roll the energy balls in oats or if I can afford it, coconut flakes! Oats do a perfectly good job however I find theres a certain sense of luxury with coconut.

screen-shot-2016-11-08-at-22-22-22

I then clingfilm my plate of energy balls and place them in the fridge to set.

Enjoy!

A x

Leave a Reply

