Dealing With Time Of The Month Blues

When I was younger,  I was pretty lucky to never suffer with time of the month blues such as cramps however it all changed when I came off the contraceptive pill a couple of years ago…

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

I took the contraceptive pill in hope of improving my skin however it didn’t seem to help much, I also felt like the pill was affecting my mood and weight so I decided to stop taking it after about 6 months. My period went from 0-100 real quick and ever since I have major time of the month blues every time. Being me, I’ve tried to help myself naturally as oppose to taking more pills however I probably should book a doctors appointment.

My PMS symptoms tend to be fluctuating emotions and breakouts which are pretty normal I guess. I find that I can burst into tears at the drop of a hat (or at an episode of Keeping up with the bloody Kardashians) and I get two or three breakouts which put me in a bad mood. Once my period’s started I get really bad cramps, backache and headaches as well as usually feeling really unproductive, tired and lazy – happy days!

Below i’ve listed a few coping mechanism’s for any ladies out there feeling the same:

Diet

It’s so easy to fall into the trap of eating everything in sight when you’re feeling hormonal and lazy and unhealthy food and snacks is what most of us reach for when we feel this way. Instead, I try to eat comfort foods which are actually going to benefit my body. This includes a lot of fruit such as bananas and leafy greens such as kale and spinach. One of my fav’s is to make my daal (recipe here) as vitamin B6 is found in high concentrations within lentils and chickpeas and spinach is full of iron. If I make a big batch, I know i’ll have lots to keep me going. I also snack on cashews and almonds as well as bananas covered in peanut butter. I try to avoid bread which will make me feel more bloated and instead have porridge with almond milk topped with berries for breakfast. Don’t get me wrong, I also find myself in my trackies in Sainsbury’s looking for a chocolate orange bar on occasion.

It’s okay to have a lazy day

If like me you feel like shit for at least a couple days of your period then allow yourself to have a lazy day. Whether you want to nap all day or binge watch Netflix, it’s up to you. Use the time to catch up with reading that book you told yourself you’d read 6 months ago or to watch that documentary that came out last year that you haven’t gotten round to watching yet. I like to read books and magazines as well as binge watching Youtube videos and catching up with series’. I’ve just finished watching Clique on BBC Three which was amazing! 10/10 recommend.

Look after yourself

Times like this at uni I crave a bubble bath but that’s just not possible in halls so I do a face mask and stand in a hot shower for ages. I also drink a lot of camomile tea because I read somewhere that it has the same calming effect as a bath (…lol okay then.) I like to use a lot of the Liz Earle body oil I was raving about in my skincare post as well. I would usually try and go to the gym to get the endorphins going but usually I feel too gross and unproductive to so I usually try and take myself off for a walk somewhere. I also found this amazing Yoga instructor on Youtube who does short and long videos so you can legit do a yoga class in your bedroom. I’m working my way through the 30 day playlist for beginners at the moment.

Thanks for reading and I hope this helps any of you out there, I would love to hear your coping mechanisms in the comments! Thanks for 1,000 followers too 🙂

A x

 

Leave a Reply

